About Us

The first planning meeting of the club was held on Sunday, 12th October, 1986 at 21A Oduduwa Crescent, GRA, Ikeja- the residence of Rotarian Chike Morah- the DG Special Representative and member of the sponsoring Club, the Rotary Club of Ogba.

In attendance were seven Rotarians namely, Chike Morah, Aku Omokhodion, Olu Sokeye, Yinka Salami Agbaje, HRM Oba Dotun Gbadebo, the Alake of Egbaland all of Rotary Club Ogba, Rotarian Chima Nwankwo of Rotary Club of Makurdi and five aspiring Rotarians namely, Oliver Ogbonna, Tayo Akintan, Douglas Edafioka, James Egejuru and egun Odiase.

The second planning meeting was held at the residence of Rotn. Segun Durojaiye at 15A Agege Motor Road, Ikeja with the DGSR Rotn. Chike Morah presiding. Five Rotarians and six aspiring Rotarians were in attendance among whom were Past President Adebayo Makinde Rotary Club of Ogba and Gunter Rohde an Aspirant. Important decisions taken at that meeting included the motion to form a new Rotary Club to be known as and called.

“ROTARY CLUB OF IKEJA SOUTH” was moved by Dr. James Egejuru and seconded by Sqn. Ldr. Douglas Edafioka. Also adopted were motions for Annual Due which was put at N285.00 in the following order: R. I. Due N60.00, N125 District Due and N100.00 Induction Fee. Mr. Tayo Akintan was appointed as the protem Treasurer. It was also agreed that the place of meeting shall be Hilton Hotel at 6.30 for 7.00pm.

Within one month, membership had risen considerably, cutting across various professions and reflecting the diversity of the community that constituted the geographical area of the club.

On 13th November 1986 the constitution and the Bye-Laws were adopted at the meeting presided over by Rotarian Makinde (Past President Rotary Club of Ogba).

The first Board of the Club constituted in a free and fair election held on the 20 th November 1986 where the following officers were elected: Segun Durojaiye- President, Kunle Araba- President Elect, HRH Oba Dotun Gbadebo Alake of Egbaland– Vice President, Tayo Akintan- Treasurer, Yinka Agbaje- Secretary, Wole Olumide- Director of Club Service, Akin Majoro- Director of Community Service, Olu Sokeye- director of Vocational Service, Chima Nwankwo- Director International Service and Oliver Ogbonna- Sergeant At Arms

The Club had 35 names in the charter list but only five are still Rotarians. The R. I. President that year was M. A. T. Caparas while HRH Oba Dapo Tejuoso, Okeona of Egba, was the District Governor, District 9110.

The Charter presentation ceremony was held at the Lagos Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja on 29th May, 1987 with Chief Ernest Sonekan as Special Guest of Honour and Rotarian Oladele Olasore as Guest Speaker.